Reverb Gamers Master List #2

What is it about gaming that you enjoy the most? Why do you game? Is it the adrenaline rush, the social aspect, or something else?

Definitely two things: social interaction and mind expansion.  The social aspect is key: I like the company of intelligent, witty people, and this includes a lot of gamers.  I like playing games with them, especially role-playing games because they let you do things that are otherwise mostly impossible for we the players to do in real life.  Adrenaline rush?  I don’t get much of that from gaming.

I’ve been experimenting with how I run RPG’s, and that is to go from tightly-scripted to loosely-scripted.  When I ran Mercenaries, Spies, and Private Eyes two years ago at the Flying Buffalo Convention (where I plan on running MSPE again this year), I had an opening scene and I knew where the final conflict would take place, and I turned the players loose.  I had a couple of other scenes in mind, but they didn’t go in those directions, so they weren’t used.  When I ran Lady Blackbird, I had the opening scene and the first complication, everything else was based on what the players did.  Same thing with Fortune’s Fool: opening, vague idea for the closing, and a couple of intermediate stops along the way.  I learned years ago that a tightly-scripted scenario never goes the way you plan it, unless you totally railroad your players, so I’ve just decided to go with the flow and take the occasional well-timed “bathroom break” to figure out what I’m doing next as a GM.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

